> Actions and Events > Cuban Five Awarded with Ecuadorian Order

Cuban Five Awarded with Ecuadorian Order

Tuesday, 30 April 2013

An Ecuadorian Parliament delegation awarded the five Cuban anti-terrorist fighters held in the United States with the Doctor Vicente Rocafuerte National Assembly of the Republic of Ecuador order.

The high distinction was presented in Havana to the relatives of Gerardo Hernández, Ramón Labañino, Antonio Guerrero, Fernando González and René González, internationally known as the Cuban Five.

The Ecuadorian delegation included Silvia Salgado, who leads the Ecuador-Cuba Friendship Parliamentary Group, and other legislators.  In the presence of Cuban Parliament President Esteban Lazo, Salgado said that the case of the Cuban Five is a violation of human rights, which must be at the center of concern of all countries of this region.

On behalf of the relatives of the five heroes, Adriana Perez, who is the wife of Gerardo Hernandez, expressed her gratitude for the distinction, although she regretted that the Five were not present, particularly Rene Gonzalez, who despite having met his prison sentence, has been forced to serve a three-year probation in the United States.

The ceremony was attended by Cuban Deputy Foreign Minister Ana Teresita Gonzalez, Cuban Parliament Vice President Maria Mari Machado, as well as the Vice President and Secretary of the National Assembly, Miriam Brito.

This entry was posted in Actions and Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.